Bobbing for Kernels

See Bob. See Bob bob. Bob, Bob, bob!

The obligatory Prague post

Posted by kernelbob on July 30, 2009

The castle from the Čechův most

The castle from the Čechův most

Anne and I are in Prague.  It’s my first time in Europe.  To be fully hip, I should be posting from a sidewalk bistro, but in fact I’m in our Communist-era hotel room.

If I were fully hip, I’d have poetic descriptions of the people and their environs, but I’m not.  It just seems like a city full of people.  A few of their buildings are very old, and they speak a different language than I.  But they’re just people.

Oh, okay, Prague is different. It has Skodas, for one thing.  And history.  And Pilsner Urquell, which is advertised everywhere.

We did the tourist circuit yesterday and saw lots of tourists.  Last night I went to a local mall and tried to buy a shoulder bag.  I enjoyed the language challenge, and the clerks and customers tolerated playing charades with me, but in the end, I didn’t get the bag.  I did manage to get change and buy a bus ticket back to the hotel, though.

Today will be a science museum, Dvorak’s birthplace, and a concert.  The musicians I came halfway around the planet  to hear?  The Eugene Concert Choir, of course.

Leave a Reply

 
