Bobbing for Kernels

See Bob. See Bob bob. Bob, Bob, bob!

Nand Gates to Tetris, part 2

Posted by kernelbob on June 9, 2008

First, I told all my friends about this textbook.  Last night, I started doing the exercises.  I’ve done about half the course now, including all the hardware sections.  It’s been a lot of fun.  I’ve never designed a CPU before, and it was fun seeing how all the pieces fit together.

The machine the class uses has a weird architecture.  It’s definitely more pedagogical than useful.  For example, there are no shift instructions.  It reminds me of the old bit slice processors — the instruction set is a lot like microcode.

Leave a Reply

 
